Rebel Og Award for September 2012




The latest winner of the Rebel Óg Monthly Awards sponsored by the Rochestown Park Hotel in association with RedFM and Irish Examiner Media Partners and Cummins Sports Award Sponsors is the Cork U16B Hurling Development Squad.

Photos can now be found in the photo gallery or  HERE of this prize giving



Cork U16B Hurling Development Squad



The latest winner of the Rebel Óg Monthly Awards sponsored by the Rochestown Park Hotel in association with RedFM and Irish Examiner Media Partners and Cummins Sports Award Sponsors is the Cork U16B Hurling Development Squad.    They join the previous winners, January joint winners De La Salle Macroom and Midleton CBS, February's winner Pa O'Callaghan (Ballyhea), the winner for March, Kilmeen/Kilbree Juvenile GAA Club, April's winner St. Francis College Rochestown, Co. Cork, May's joint winners, Sarsfield GAA and Ballincollig GAA Féile Winners, June's winner: the Committee of Sciath na Scol, July's winner Cork Ladies U-14 All Ireland Winning side and the most recent winners in August, Clonakilty U-14B Hurling Team


Quote from Team Coach - Trevor Allen and Jon Darby

Winning this award is a great honour for this team. This is proof that Development Squads are working in the right direction.


We have seen these lads grow and develop both physically and technically over the last 3 years, most importantly this award highlights the effort and commitment these players and selectors have been willing to put in. During this competition the players were pushed to the limit and skill levels and fitness levels were well and truly tested. Thankfully they came through and hopefully these players and others within the development structure will go on and represent their county at higher levels and that they get more moments to enjoy in the future." 


Manager - Michael Cremin

"I would like to take this opportunity to thank all the mentors, parents and players who give so generously of their time.


Winning this award isn't just a result of the work that was done this year but this is a culmination of hard work and commitment over the last 3 years.  These lads have shown a great attitude in both training and matches and this award is a great boost to the time and effort that goes into Development Squads.


We look forward to when these young players will have future success while wearing the red jersey of Cork"



The Cork U-16B Development Squad - victorious over Dublin in the final.









Path to Final


Cork v Tipperary score 2-07 to 2-04

Cork v Kilkenny score 0-09 to 0-06

Cork v Clare score 1-11 to 0-03


Final Cork v Dublin 4.12 to 0-03


Cork B Squad

1.       James Mulcahy (Blarney)

2.       Glen Kennefick (Glen Rovers)

3.       Gavin Bagnell  (Midleton)

4.       David Dooling (Glen Rovers)

5.       Adam O'Donovan (Glen Rovers)

6.       John Mullins (Eire Og)

7.       Darren O'Driscoll (Carraigtwohill)

8.       Peter Philpott (Blarney)

9.       Darren Hayes (Mayfield)

10.   Murt Kenneally (Newcestown)

11.   Alec Lutterel (Mallow) (

12.   Cillian O'Gorman (Milford)

13.   Diarmuid Buckley (Newtownshandrum)

14.   Darren Casey  (Charleville)

15.   Eugene O'Leary (Ballyhea)

16.   Darragh O'Connell (Na Piarsaigh)

17.   Padraig Guest (Na Piarsaigh)

18.   Michael Cotterel (Newmarket)

19.   Owen Keniry (Killeagh)

20.   Shane Moroney (Castlelyons)

21.   Ollie Dempsey (Youghal)

22.   Christopher Morrison (Youghal)

23.   Seamus Ronayne (Clyda Rovers)

24 Daniel O'Sullivan (Douglas)


Jon Darby

Mick Cremin

Trevor Allen







The main focus of Rebel Óg is to support and develop Gaelic Games at club and school levels for players taking part in our activities up to eighteen years of age, says Marc Sheehan (Chairman Rebel Óg & Children's Officer Cork GAA), congratulating the September winners.

Rebel Óg are conscious of the contribution of clubs and schools to the nurturing and development of Gaelic games and we believe that this scheme will recognise and acknowledge endeavour and achievement within the communities of the recipients.  The scheme will provide 12 monthly winners with a Banquet at the year end to announce the overall winner.

Rebel Óg are upbeat about the ambitious programme for 2012 and we are also enthusiastic about the capacity of the awards to further strengthen our Games at the heart of every household and community.  Today we honour the achievements of Cork U16B Hurling Development Squad.

Former Cork hurlers Seán O'Gorman, and Mark Landers, with well-known referee Donal McCarthy are members of the judging panel along with Chairman, North Mon School Principal Mick Evans and former Cork Camogie Star and former Chairperson of Cork Camogie Board, Ms. Miriam Murphy.